Wine Wednesday ~ Sangria!

Hi Everyone!  Today is one of my favorite days – Wine Wednesday!  I am going to be making some delicious Spanish Sangria and, of course, giving you my recipe.  The great thing about sangria is that you really can’t mess it up.  It’s just wine, fruit, sugar, and usually some liquor.  Brandy and Rum are relatively popular in sangria, but it is definitely a drink you can experiment with.

Typically, sangria starts with red wine and it is very common to find oranges and peaches as some of the main fruits used.  That said, there are seemingly endless variations.  I, personally, like white wine more than red and tend to go for white wine based sangria when I’m buying a bottle or ordering it out.  But, then again, one of my favorite restaurants uses red wine and blackberries.  You can also add flavored liquor to it, or use different fruits to change the flavor!

Well, now that I’ve told you all about it, I can’t wait to make some!  My basic recipe is below.  As I said, Sangria can be made to taste.  You can use whatever fruit you want, and change the recipe to suit your tastes.  I made some changes to this recipe when I made it, and I have added my changes in italics.

P1030185

Basic Sangria

Ingredients:

  • 1 Bottle Red Table Wine (I promise you don’t need to use expensive wine for this!)
  • 2 Oranges
  • 2 Lemons
  • 2 Peaches, peeled, pitted, and cubed.
  • 5 Tablespoons White Sugar
  • 1/2 Cup Rum or Brandy.  (I used Rum)
  • 1 Mango, cubed. 
  • 1/2 Cup Sparking Juice (optional)  I used a Sparkling Mango-Passion Fruit juice I picked up at Wal-Mart.

Kitchen Supplies:

  • Pitcher
  • Wooden Spoon (or something to stir with)
  • Corkscrew
  • Knife
  • Cutting Board
  • Juicer (if you have one it makes it easier, if not, you can juice the fruit by hand and it’s still easy!)
  • Fine mesh strainer (again, if you have one, it’s easier, if not, you will be just fine!)

Directions:

  1. Pour your wine into the pitcher you plan to use.
  2. Add 5 T of sugar and stir until the sugar is dissolved.
  3. Juice the lemons and oranges.  If you have a juicer this will go pretty quickly, if not, just juice the fruit by hand.  To do by hand: cut the fruit in half and squeeze over a bowl.  Don’t squeeze the juice directly into the pitcher of wine – you don’t want the seeds and pulp to get in the wine!
  4. Strain the juice to remove any seeds or pulp that may have gotten into the juice.  If you don’t have a fine mesh strainer, you can also use a spoon to fish out some of the seeds and pulp, or use a spoon to block the side of the bowl containing the juice so that it catches most of the pulp.
  5. Pour the juice into the pitcher of wine. Stir.
  6. Peel and Pit the peaches.  Chop them into cubes and add them to the wine.  If you are using any other fruits in addition to peaches, add them at this time.
  7. Add your liquor of choice.  I used about a 1/2 Cup, but you can use more or less to taste!
  8. Add sparking juice, or sprite/ 7-Up if you wish.
  9. Chill, serve, and enjoy!

P1030186

One thought on “Wine Wednesday ~ Sangria!

  1. Pingback: Spain masterpost | Travel Fare

Leave a Reply

